Skip links

Governor Fubara Inaugurates Caretaker Chairmen for 23 Local Governments

Governor Siminalayi Fubara of Rivers State officially appointed new caretaker chairmen for all 23 local government areas in the state on Wednesday. This decision was made after the House of Assembly, led by factional Speaker Victor Jumbo, confirmed the nominees put forward by the governor. The former council chairmen had refused to vacate their positions after their terms ended, leading to a political crisis in the region.

The list of nominees was submitted by the governor to the House of Assembly on Tuesday, and the screening process began early the next day. The swearing-in ceremony took place at the Executive Council Chambers of the Government House in Port Harcourt, with tight security measures in place.

The first batch of eleven caretaker chairmen took their oaths of office, followed by subsequent groups. The newly appointed chairmen for each local government area are as follows:

  1. Abua/Odua LGA – Madigai Dickson
  2. Ahoada East LGA – Happy Benneth
  3. Ahoada West LGA – Mr. Daddy John Green
  4. Akuku Toru LGA – Otonye Briggs
  5. Andoni LGA – Reginald Ekaan
  6. Asari Toru LGA – Orolosoma Amachree
  7. Bonny LGA – Alabota Anengi Barasua
  8. Degema LGA – Anthony Soberekon
  9. Eleme LGA – Brain Gokpa
  10. Emouha LGA – David Omereji
  11. Etche LGA – John Otamiri
  12. Gokana LGA – Kenneth Kpeden
  13. Ikwerre LGA – Darlington Orji
  14. Khana LGA – Marvin Yobana
  15. Obia/Akpor LGA – Chijioke Ihunwo
  16. Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni LGA – Princewill Ejekwe
  17. Ogu/Bolo LGA – Evans Bipi
  18. Okrika LGA – Princess Ogan
  19. Omuma LGA – Promise Reginald
  20. Opobo/Nkoro LGA – Enyiada Cookey-Gam
  21. Oyigbo LGA – Gogo Philip
  22. Port Harcourt LGA – Ichemati Ezebunwo
  23. Tai LGA – Matthew Dike

On Tuesday, the state’s crisis escalated when protesting youths, who were loyal to Fubara, forcefully removed chairmen who refused to vacate their offices. Tragically, a policeman lost his life at the Eberi-Omuma secretariat in Omuma Local Government Area during a clash between Fubara’s supporters and those of his predecessor, Nyesom Wike, who is the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory. In order to prevent any additional deterioration of law and order, the police declared on Tuesday evening that they had assumed control of all 23 council secretariats.

Leave a comment